By Donald Rosenberg
October 10, 2010
original link

The Singing Rooms

Higdon: "The Singing Rooms"; Singleton: "PraiseMaker"; Scriabin: "Poem of Ecstacy"

Jennifer Koh, violin;
Robert Spano, conductor

The works on this exceptional Atlanta Symphony disc are soaring responses to poetry, though only two use texts: Jennifer Higdon's richly expressive "The Singing Rooms" (with violinist Jennifer Koh as silken soloist) and Alvin Singleton's noble "PraiseMakers." The orchestra's superb chorus rises to the occasion in both scores. Wordless but eloquent, Scriabin's "The Poem of Ecstacy" receives a sweeping and sensuous account under music director Robert Spano.

Copyright ©2010